The main 'Fast and Furious' storyline set to end in two-parter 10th and 11th movies

21st October 2020

Insider has confirmed that the Universal Studios juggernaut film franchise will come to a close after an 11th film due to be return-directed by Justin Lin.

The franchise will not come to a complete stop as spinoffs featuring Dwayne Johnson, and Jason Statham are likely to continue.

The delayed "Fast 9" film was directed by Justin Lin, who will direct the final films, adding to the four other "Fast and furious" films under his belt.

The final two movies are reportedly unlikely to be a "Fast 10" and "Fast 11" as according to Insider, "Fast 10" will be split into two parts much like the Marvel Phase 3 finale, 'Infinity War' and 'Endgame.'

According to Deadline, the final two films will follow an explosive narrative focussing on the main cast consisting of Dominic Toretto (Diesel), Letty (Michelle Rodriguez), Roman (Tyrese), Tej (Ludacris), Ramsay (Nathalie Emmanuel), Mia (Jordana Brewster), and Han (Sung Kang).

The film media blog also reported that Gal Gadot's Giselle, Han's love interest who was killed off from the franchise a few films ago, could make a return.

Since its humble street-racing beginning in 2000, the film series co-starring Vin Diesel and the late Paul Walker have made Universal Pictures billions in the box-office.

The announcement that the film franchise would come to an end came from a post by Diesel in 2016, which indicated that the saga's 10'th film would be released in 2021.

Diesel also hinted at a two-parter finale during an interview with Total Film in early 2020, where he said: "For the fans, should 'Fast 10' parts one and two be the conclusion, it would be nice for this world to continue for generations to come."

You may also like

Black Panther sequel update: Marvel assures no CGI-recreated Chadwick Boseman

16th November 2020

Visit art galleries from home with FNB Art Joburg fair

6th November 2020

'WELP, KANYE 2024' tweets Kanye West as he concedes defeat in US presidential election

5th November 2020