China warns UK, USA, Canada, Australia and New Zealand in their involvement in Hong Kong

19th November 2020

The Five Eyes alliance countries which include the UK, the US, Australia, New Zealand and Canada have been rebuked by China and warned to stay away from Chinese affairs.

This comes after the Five Eyes alliance urged Beijing to reverse their new rules to disqualify elected legislators in Hong Kong.

"They should be careful or their eyes will be plucked out."

"The Chinese never make trouble and are never afraid of anything," Zhao Lijian told journalists in Beijing on Thursday, saying it did not "matter if they had five or 10 eyes".

Last week, Hong Kong expelled four pro-democracy lawmakers from its legislature after Beijing passed a resolution allowing the city's government to dismiss politicians deemed a threat to national security.

In response, all of Hong Kong's pro-democracy lawmakers announced their resignation. For the first time since the UK handed the territory back to China in 1997, the body has almost no dissenting voices.

The dismissal of the four lawmakers was viewed by many as the latest attempt by China to restrict Hong Kong's freedoms, something Beijing denies.

You may also like

Brazil: More than 20 armed robbers stormed a bank in Cametá

3rd December 2020

Singapore: The Singapore Food Agency approve lab-grown chicken

3rd December 2020

USA: Joe Biden slipped and hurt his foot on Saturday

30th November 2020